A Mi Pequeña

When you do not see the light in your eyes I will show you the Mirror. When you cannot get out of bed I will be the one holding your hand letting you know it’s safe to put your feet on the ground and walk. When you do not have the energy to walk through life with the same attitude as you did before, I will tell you that I am a step behind you ready to catch you IF you fall. Not that you will. Because by the time I am done with you, you will believe in yourself. Because you, YOU are my muse. You are the one I write for and the reason I write. You held the quill I wrote with when my hands fell shaky, you were the one who cleaned my eyes when the tears because a pool on my lash line. So this. All this I dedicate to you. You are the reason I am able to step out from behind the shadows and show the world my feelings. You let me think that what I do and what I feel can be justified. That the bad days will end and the good days can start. You are why I am able to live to see another day and you my dear will learn to love life again, just the way you taught me to. Just how you believed that there couldn’t  be a rainbow without rain. For you I will be the rain, just so you are able to get your rainbow.

4 thoughts on “A Mi Pequeña

  1. This is almost like a devotional hymn. Viz, who is “you?” Is it a real person, or rather is it a spirit — or both? Please don’t revise it; I like the ambiguity. Makes your writing richer in meaning if there’s room for interpretation… What author is your class studying now? I’m interested to know. Is this spring term for you now? I’m right behind you. And Malaika is behind both of us. Take care. PS. Ever hear of an Indian poet named Tagore? Your work here reminds me of him. If you have a spare hour and a little cash this summer, you might get yourself a copy of The Gitanjali. Tagore is always addressing a mysterious second person, but of course it is God.

    Like

      1. So sorry, I never rec’d an email. Yes, it is totally alright to let your text just be, and leave interpretation to your readers. Formalism /is/ beautiful in the classroom. In Mr Foster’s classroom once, in discussion of John Donne’s “The Flea,” some students believed that AIDS was the issue. Of course, in the poet’s time, there was no such thing as AIDS. But is a strictly historical author approach more or less exciting? I must admit, less. My old teacher, Foster, thrived on getting a debate going over overmuch general topics. Oh well. It was fun, but perhaps not quite what I was looking for… It’s all about perception, thus I could bet that you could really profit from reading Petrarch’s poetry, which came about 500 yrs before Wordsworth’s /The Prelude/. Both works are exquisitely epistemological and a propos to critical discussion. But I won’t heap too much on you unless you want more. How much do you want? There is always more. Eat a good breakfast and write back when you like. Your Rob

        Like

Leave a comment